Sue Hernandez's SharePoint Blog

SharePoint and Related Stuff

MOSS – WSPBuilder and Workflow Template

I am a big fan of using WSPBuilder for building Solution packages.  I did, however find one bug that others have found and blogged about also.

First of all, I was working on my company’s PC which does not have SharePoint installed.  That had problems of its own:  I had to get some dll’s on to my local computer, and register them in the GAC, for

  • microsoft.office.workflow.tasks.dll
  • Microsoft.SharePoint.dll
  • microsoft.sharepoint.WorkflowActions.dll
  • microsoft.sharepoint.WorkflowActions.intl.dll
  • microsoft.SharePoint.workflowactions.intl.resources.dll

The last one, I had to get directly out of the GAC from a server that had SharePoint on it, by navigating to

    C:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Microsoft.SharePoint.WorkflowActions.intl.resources\12.0.0.0__71e9bce111e9429c

Now, as for WSPBuilder, when adding a new project of type “WSPBuilder Project with Workflow”  I found that once I deployed the solution I kept getting the result “Failed on Start”.  When I looked into the SharePoint log files, it showed “Workflow Failed Validation” type of exceptions.

Turns out accofding to This Post that the project file needed an extra line – a missing import target.  Below the line

    <Import Project="$(MSBuildBinPath)\Microsoft.CSharp.targets" />

we need to add the line

    <Import Project="$(MSBuildExtensionsPath)\Microsoft\Windows Workflow Foundation\v3.5\Workflow.Targets" />

This solved the problem, and the workflow then proceeded to fail miserably in expected ways as opposed to unexpected ways :-).  Until I fixed it of course.

Leave a Reply

