Sue Hernandez's SharePoint Blog

SharePoint and Related Stuff

Why won’t my emails send when I’m using a Workflow Lookup

I have had to fiddle around with SharePoint Designer Workflows.  What I have done is set an Initiation Parameter to the email address of a Person.  Then, in the Send Email action, I specify the To field, select Workflow Lookup… and select Workflow Data and then my Initiation Parameter.

However, the email never gets sent.  I have also tried DOMAIN\username in the Initiation Parameter, but that didn’t work either.

Thanks for any help.

2 responses to “Why won’t my emails send when I’m using a Workflow Lookup

  1. Jeffrey Willinger January 5, 2010 at 4:26 am

    Did you figure this out? Ping me if not Jeff
    jwillinger@rightpoint.com

    • suehernandez January 7, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      Jeffrey

      Thank you for responding to my blog post. I found out 2 things:
      1. I had to send it via EMAIL address, NOT domain\username
      2. Our Microsoft Outlook Intelligent Message Filtering was blocking the message. I had “Purchase Request Approved” in the subject, and it didn’t like that for some reason.

      Thanks again
      Sue

Leave a comment