Sue Hernandez's SharePoint Blog

SharePoint and Related Stuff

SPListItem.DoesUserHavePermissions doesn’t work…or does it?

Don’t you hate when you make dumb – and upon later inspection, rather obvious – mistakes?

I was struggling (I’m too embarrassed to tell you how many hours) with the fact that even though I had broken permission inheritance, my code was always saying that the Current User had access to the list item – and full access at that (that should have been my first clue).

bool hasPermissions = false;
try
{
       //http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ryanrogers/archive/2004/07/15/184594.aspx
       site.CatchAccessDeniedException = false;

       hasPermissions = item.DoesUserHavePermissions(SPBasePermissions.ViewListItems);
}
catch (Exception ex2)
{
       hasPermissions = false;
}
finally
{
       site.CatchAccessDeniedException = true;
}

if (!hasPermissions)
{
       ShowError("User does not have permissions to list item");
       return;
}

So I thought the above code would work.  From everything I could see on the web, it SHOULD have worked.  So why didn’t it?

Turns out that I was running in Elevated Privileges mode, so the “Current User” was the system account.  Now mind you, that code above was NOT inside that Elevated Privileges wrapper – that’s what threw me I think.  But, what I did do (and I’m questioning now WHY did I do it this way) is that I had an SPWeb object variable that I set inside the RunWithElevatedPrivillges method.

SPList list = null;
SPWeb web = null;
SPSite site = null;
try
{
       SPSecurity.RunWithElevatedPrivileges(delegate()
       {
              using (SPSite secureSite = new SPSite(webURL))
              {
                     site = secureSite;
                     using (SPWeb secureWeb = secureSite.OpenWeb())
                     {
                           web = secureWeb;
                     }
              }
       });
}
catch
{
       ShowError("Could not retrieve web at '" + webURL + "'");
       return;
}

try
{
       list = web.Lists[listID];
}
catch
{
       ShowError("List ID '" + strListID + "' not found in web");
       return;
}

try
{
       SPListItem item = list.GetItemById(itemID);

So apparently the web object stayed elevated, thus the list was elevated, thus the List Item was elevated.  All I had to do was use the overload of the DoesUserHavePermissions method.  But that being said, I’m rethinking this whole, “pull it out of the elevated wrapper” thing I have going on here.  I’m marking this post as “Best Practices” as in what NOT to do :-).

hasPermissions = item.DoesUserHavePermissions(SPContext.Current.Web.CurrentUser, SPBasePermissions.ViewListItems);
Leave a Reply

