Sue Hernandez's SharePoint Blog

SharePoint and Related Stuff

What happened to my ULS Logs? Why is the Tracing service disabled?

I was happily developing and testing, and came across an error.  No big deal, I’ll just grab the Correlation ID and take a peek in the ULS logs, right?  But when I went to where they were stored – there were NO logs.

First I went to Central Admin –> Monitoring –> Configure Diagnostic logging.

  • I checked to ensure the path was correct
  • I reset all categories to default logging level
  • I even tried to change the log location, then change it back.

Nothing.

Then I noticed that in the “Services” mmc plugin, the service “SharePoint Tracing Service” (SPTraceV4) was not only stopped but disabled!

Well OK, so I enabled it and started it.   And got my logs just fine!!!  ………for about an hour, after which it just disabled itself again.  Sigh.

Found the answer on StackExchange (link below) – the “default state” of the service was set to Disabled, so the Health Analyzer keeps shutting it back off.  So the fix is to change its default state to back on.

$services = (Get-SPFarm).Services | Where Name -match "SPTraceV4"
$instances = @($services.Instances)

foreach($instance in $instances) {
     $id = $instance.ID | Select -ExpandProperty Guid

     Start-SPServiceInstance -Identity $id
}

References

https://sharepoint.stackexchange.com/questions/62897/sptracev4-being-disabled

~ Sue

Leave a Reply

